NUDSA Player of the Year Award

History of the Award

The NUDSA Player of the Year award started in 1999. The idea being that at the end of each season NUDSA members vote for their NUFC player of the season and the winning player collects the award at the following NUDSA social event, the award is presented by a NUDSA member who voted for the winning player.

The award voting process and presentation night has proved very popular with members, and we’ve been very well supported by NUFC players coming to pick up the award at our social night, which is usually held in September.

Our first winner was Alan Shearer in 1999, he picked up the award at an event held at Gateshead Stadium where 63 people attended. We started hosting events at St. James’ Park and when Alan Shearer won the award in 2003 an incredible 250 attended.

It was decided to name the award the ‘Alan Gill Award’, in honour of our former NUDSA committee member who sadly passed away.

Below is a list of all our past winners of the Alan Gill Award. There are some impressive names on what is becoming an illustrious list.

Year Player
1999 Alan Shearer
2000 Alan Shearer
2001 Aaron Hughes
2002 Shay Given
2003 Alan Shearer
2004 Alan Shearer
2005 Shay Given
2006 Shay Given
2007 James Milner
2008 Habib Beye
2009 Stephen Taylor
2010 Jose Enrique
2011 Fabricio Collocini
2012 Tim Krul
2013 Tim Krul
2014 Mike Williamson
2015 Jack Colback
2016 Rob Elliot
2017 Matt Ritchie
2018 Jamaal Lascelles
2019 Fabian Schar